This museum connects with its exhibition city - and church history with art-historical accents, but also with the monastery history of the Sauerland. The actual treasure chamber of the city museum shows liturgical vestments from the 17th/18th century with the "Golden and Red Chapel" as completely preserved pontifical regalia of the Grafschaft abbots and a wealth of precious chalices, ciboria and monstrances from the 15th to 18th century. Here the abbot's chalice from 1509 is considered a unique work of art of its kind in the Sauerland.
The tower of the provost church St. Pankratius with its characteristic baroque dome greets from afar. Today's nave (first mention of the church in 1087) was built as a baroque hall in 1749/1750 and is a shining example of baroque variety and design. The two-story high altar with its interchangeable paintings and the two side altars are the highlight of the precious interior.
The so-called "Odacker Madonna" and the "Plague Cross", both exhibits from the early 14th century, also deserve special attention in the magnificent interior of the church. An elaborately curved communion bench in fine marquetry was made in 1754 and shows Old Testament Eucharistic motifs.
Outside the opening hours listed below, other visits and guided tours of the museum and the church are also possible, especially for groups, but only by prior arrangement.
The contact person is Mr. Joseph Friederizi (tel. 02902/71132, e-mail: email@example.com).