- Free admission
- no entry possible
St. Joseph's Hospital (Mining Trail 40)
Heinrich- Lübke- Straße
59909 Bestwig
The building, erected in 1898, originally belonged to Stolberger Zink AG and served as a company and residential building. Situated on the main street, there was a weighbridge under the front part of the building, where freight for the factory warehouses was weighed.
During the First World War, Pastor Friedrich Meyer set up a hospital here - as a successor to the "Old Hospital" (Ward 4). Medical care was provided by doctors from Ramsbeck, while Franciscan nuns from Olpe took care of the patients. The hospital was closed in 1962.
From 1972, Dr. Dieter Hegemann used the building as a doctor's surgery, and later a joint Caritas and Diakonie social welfare station moved in. Today, there are rental apartments on the upper floor.